2012 Pardee RAND Graduate School Commencement

Today's public policymakers have a unique opportunity to shape the future, but only if they focus on putting ideas into action and "get stuff done," said Robert B. Zoellick, the 11th president of the World Bank Group, at the Pardee RAND Graduate School commencement on June 23, 2012.

Also offering their advice and congratulations during Commencement Weekend were Alumni Mark Albrect, winner of the inaugural Alumni Leadership Award; Graduate Elizabeth Brown, who presented the graduate address; Michael Rich, president and CEO of RAND; and Dean Susan L. Marquis.

The weekend's events kicked off on Friday afternoon with a Policy Panel featuring Zoellick, former RAND president and CEO James Thomson, and RAND trustee and Stanford professor Francis Fukuyama, all of whom received honorary degrees the next day. Marquis moderated the panel discussion.

A celebration dinner followed the panel discussion, where Albrecht received his award and presented his remarks.

At the Commencement ceremony on Saturday morning, Zoellick delivered the commencement address and Brown delivered the student address. Additionally, Pardee RAND unveiled its official academic regalia at the commencement, with Marquis, Assistant Dean Jeffrey Wasserman (cohort '85), and RAND President and CEO Michael Rich wearing the Pardee RAND robes.

2012 PRGS Graduates

Our 2012 graduates include Richard Bowman, Elizabeth Brown, Myles Collins, Claudia Diaz, Diana Dunham-Scott, John Fei,
Adam Gailey, Sarah Gaillot, Kenneth Grosselin, Jianhui Hu, Alexis Huynh, Florencia Jaureguiberry, Ryan Keefe, Aaron Martin,
Carl Matthies, Benjamin Mundell, Sean O'Neill, Jordan Ostwald, Sarah Outcault, K. Kartika Palar, Chung Pham,
Brooke Stearns Lawson, Jeffery Tanner, and Brian Weatherford. (Not pictured: Brandon Dues, Thomas Edison, Emre Erkut,
Eric Jesse, Ki-Tae Park, David Schulker, Yuyan Shi, Farrukh Suvankulov, and Zhen Wang.)