Alumni Task Force Helps Plan 50th Anniversary Events

p201006_02a, prgs 40th, panel discussion, celebration, jeffrey wasserman

Jeffrey Wasserman moderated a panel discussion during Pardee RAND's 40th Anniversary/Commencement Weekend and is leading the alumni task force to plan 50th Anniversary events

Diane Baldwin/RAND Corporation

November 18, 2019

In recognition of the 50th anniversary of RAND's Ph.D. program, Pardee RAND Graduate School has convened a task force of alumni and staff to plan commemorative events and more throughout 2020. Alum Jeffrey Wasserman (cohort '85) graciously agreed to be the chair.

Dean Susan Marquis, in welcoming and introducing the task force members, said, "The role of the Task Force is to develop ideas and recommendations for how we should mark and celebrate the school’s 50th Anniversary in 2020, and then to be our sounding board as we move forward."

The largest events will be planned for Commencement Weekend, June 11–13, and the kickoff of the school's development campaign on March 7.

The task force will also suggest and review nominations for the fifth biennial Alumni Leadership Award, which Dean Marquis will present at commencement, and encourage attendance at anniversary events.

Alumni members of the task force (by cohort year) are:

  • Rick Fallon ('75)
  • Ted Harshberger ('86)
  • Jack Riley ('88)
  • Cheryl Damberg ('89)
  • Michael Dardia ('89)
  • Sam Loeb ('00)
  • Josh Weed ('01)
  • Sai Ma ('02)
  • Jordan Fischbach ('04)
  • Diana Epstein ('05)
  • Claudia Diaz ('06)
  • Adam Gailey ('07)
  • Aaron Martin ('07)
  • Jennifer Walters ('11)
  • Ben Batorsky ('12)
  • Olena Bogdan ('12)
  • Leslie Mullins ('12)
  • Daniel Basco ('14)

Marquis has asked the group to brainstorm and help to plan additional activities and outreach, including but not limited to:

  • Events and activities in each of the major RAND offices — Santa Monica, Washington, Pittsburgh, and possibly Boston and Cambridge
  • Dinners or other events in major regions such as New York City and the San Francisco Bay Area
  • Content for the annual Dean’s Report, videos, school histories, development campaign material, the RAND and Pardee RAND websites, commentaries related to the anniversary and the school’s leadership in re-defining the field of policy analysis
  • 50th Anniversary swag

Reuben Ayala, Alex Duke, and Monica Hertzman are also task force members, representing the Office of Development, school staff, and the Office of External Affairs.